European Commission announces sustainable mobility award winners

Posted: 18 May 2020 |

As part of EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK 2019, in which 3,100 towns and cities registered to take part in, the European Commission has now announced the winners of four sustainable mobility awards.

European Commission announces sustainable mobility award winners

In February 2020, the European Commission announced the city/town nominees for the sustainable mobility awards. Now, the winners have been announced:

Krusevac, Serbia – winner of the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2019 for larger municipalities

The Serbian city of Kruševac reportedly impressed the jury with its range of activities, underpinned by strong citizen participation and political support from the local government. The Mayor was noted to be ‘walking the walk’, travelling to work by foot to help spread this year’s mobility message. During EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK 2019, cars were restricted in the city streets – in the centre and in the suburbs. The face of the city was also said to be transformed, with the installation of new cycle paths, walkways, public squares, urban parks, benches and swings.

The other finalists were Rethymno (Greece) and Wrocław (Poland).

Karditsa, Greece – winner of the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2019 for smaller municipalities

Karditsa impressed the jury with its use of promotional materials and partnerships to support sustainable mobility. During EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK 2019, the city partnered with dozens of organisations including schools, music academies, government departments, police, fire brigade, civil society organisations and businesses, all of which were invited to participate in a week of mobility celebrations.

Other initiatives included financial benefits for companies introducing sustainable mobility measures, and days off work for employees who commuted by bicycle or on foot – to show that safe walking and cycling are appealing for reasons beyond health and wellbeing.

The other finalists were Alfândega da Fé (Portugal) and Paide (Estonia).

Brussels-Capital Region, Belgium – winner of the eighth Award for Sustainable Urban Mobility Planning (SUMP)

According to the jury, Brussels-Capital Region has set itself ‘clear and ambitious’ sustainable mobility goals, which include having zero road traffic deaths by 2030, restricting car usage, reducing the speed limit to 30 kilometres per hour by 2021, and increasing the number of pedestrianised zones.

The jury was impressed by its approach to reaching these goals, which sees the city as an ‘ecosystem’. The city’s achievements are said to be underpinned by strong stakeholder outreach, impressive citizen participation, and the implementation of “superblocks”, an urban planning concept.

The other finalists were Kaunas (Lithuania) and Wrocław (Poland).

Pontevedra, Spain – winner of the first EU Urban Road Safety Award

Pontevedra reduced road fatalities in the city consistently since 1999, achieving zero road deaths between 2011 and 2018. A host of measures are said to ensure that safety and sustainability go hand-in-hand. The jury said that the city used a clear and careful monitoring strategy to identify which policies are effective and which need to be updated, resulting in increased active mobility, such as walking and cycling.

The jury was also reportedly impressed by Pontevedra’s use of a broad array of measures, including reducing speed limits to 10-30 km/h and creating more public spaces that are attractive for pedestrians.

The other finalists were Jaworzno (Poland) and Ordu (Turkey).

Commissioner for Transport, Adina Vălean, said: “I would like to extend my sincere congratulations to the winning cities – your actions are powerful examples illustrating the leading role local leaders can play in making our cities cleaner, safer, and more sustainable. I hope this can serve as inspiration for towns and cities who are rethinking their mobility strategies, not least in the wake of the current pandemic.”